Training Organizations Accepted by the National Certification Body

The Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Non-Destructive Testing Certification Body (NDTCB) manages the Canadian program that certifies individuals to perform non-destructive testing (NDT).

Accepted NDT training organizations are listed below by province.

Legend:

  • ET = Eddy Current
  • RT = Industrial Radiography
  • PT = Liquid Penetrant
  • MT = Magnetic Particle
  • UT = Ultrasonics
  • VT = Visual Testing 
British Columbia

British Columbia Institute of Technology
School of Manufacturing, Electronics and Industrial Processes
3700 Willington Avenue, Burnaby, British Columbia, V5G 2R1
Contact: Nancy Naylor
Telephone: (604) 456-8027
Fax: (604) 432-9572
Email: nancy_naylor@bcit.ca
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Elander Technologies Ltd.
11800 River Road, Suite 128, Richmond, British Columbia, V6X 1Z7
Contact: Allan Elander
Telephone: (604) 214-1318
Fax: (604) 214-1349
Email: elander@intergate.ca
Training in: MT-2

Kelowna Flightcraft
5655 Airport Way, Kelowna, British Columbia, V1V 1S1
Contact: Tim Deagnon
Telephone: (250) 807-5409
Fax: (250) 807-5423
Email: tim_deagnon@flightcraft.ca
Training in: PT-2, MT-2, ET-1, ET-2, RT-1, RT-2, UT-1, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

S L Inspection

2326 Cape Horn Avenue, Coquitlam, British Columbia, V3K 1J8
Contact: Yue-Choy (Siggy) Lai
Telephone: (604) 781-9277
Email: siggylai@hotmail.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2

First College
209-3011 Louie Drive, West Kelowna, British Columbia, V4T 3E3
Contact: Bernie Roy, Ken Laurie
Telephone: (778) 754-2888
Email: Bernie@firstcollege.ca
Training in: PT-2, MT-2, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Alberta

Andrew Cunningham's Practical NDT Workshop
8 Osborne Close, St. Albert, Alberta, T8N 6T1
Contact: Andrew Cunningham
Telephone: (780) 651-0699
Fax: (780) 651-2310
Email: andrew.cunningham@practical-ndt.com
Training in: UT-2

Applus RTD Group
Quality & AIES Canada
5504-36 Street, Edmonton, Alberta, T6B 3P3
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, RT-1, RT-2, RT-3, MT-2, MT-3, PT-2, PT-3
Courses and Examination for Math and Material & Process Prerequisite for NDT

Assured Quality Inspection LTD.
8 Brookpark Place S.W., Calgary, Alberta, T2W 2X3
Contact: William Lemisko
Telephone: (403) 251-2102
Email: wlemisko@shaw.ca; 
Training in: PT-2

Canadian Institute for NDE
10250 - 176 Street, Edmonton, Alberta, T5S 1J4
Contact: Sharon Bond
Telephone: (800) 964-9488 (Ext. 222)
Fax: (905) 574-6080
Email: s.bond@cinde.ca
Training in: PT-2, PT-3, MT-2, MT-3, UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, ET-1, ET-2, ET-3, RT-1, RT-2, RT-3
On-line courses and examinations for Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

CWB Institute (CWBi)
206-19th Avenue, Nisku, Alberta, T9E 0W8
Contact: Darcy Yantz or Cam Edgar
Telephone: (800) 844-6790
Email: info@CWBGroup.org
Training in: RT-1, RT-2, RT-3, UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, PT-2, PT-3, MT-2, MT-3, ET-1, ET-2, ET-3, Materials and Processes and Math for NDT, Film Interpretation

FGG Inspection Inc.
140 Portage Close, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8H 2W2
Contact: Ed Gulliver, Christian Croteau, Jocelyn Dauphinais
Telephone: (780) 464-3444, (866) 413-8282
Fax: (780) 464-3462
Email: edg@fgginsp.com
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, ET-1 and 2, UT-1, UT- 2, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

IDL Inspection Ltd.
13 Airport Road, Edmonton, Alberta, T5G 0W6
Contact: Donald Lucic
Telephone: (780) 721-2486
Fax: (780) 489-2557
Email: dlucic@telus.net
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, UT-2, Materials and Processes and Math for NDT

IRISNDT Corp.
5311-86 Street, Edmonton, Alberta, T6E 5T8
Telephone: (780) 437-2022 
Fax: (780) 438-1436
Training in: UT-1, MT-2, PT-2, and RT-1

Keyano College
8115 Franklin Avenue, Fort McMurray, Alberta, T9H 2H7
Contact: Karen Cartwright
Telephone: (780) 791-4838
Email: testing.services@keyano.ca
Fax: (780) 791-4841
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, RT-1, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Metalogic Inspection Services Inc.
7211 – 68 Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta, T6B 3T6
Contact: Dr. Aziz U. Rehman, P.Eng., PMP
Telephone: (780) 469-6161
Fax: (780) 496-6152
Email: training@metalogicinspection.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, RT-1, RT-2, RT-3, MT-2, MT-3, PT-2, PT-3

Monik International Inc.
272 Bulyea Road, Edmonton, Alberta, T6R 1Z6
Contact: Vijay Malhotra
Telephone: (780) 970-3703
Email: vijay@telusplanet.net
Training in: MT-2, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
11762 - 106 Street, Edmonton, Alberta, T5G 2R1
Contact: Jason Smith, Don Thompson and Dave Adams
Telephone: (780) 471-7638
Fax: (780) 471-7598
Email: ndt@nait.ca
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, UT-2, RT-1, RT-2, ET-1, ET-2, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

PML Inspection Services Limited
#2 - 11110 88 Avenue, Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, T8L 3K8
Contact : Phil Larochelle
Telephone: (780) 992-9360
Fax : (780) 992-9361
Email: Phil.Larochelle@shell.com
Training in: UT-1

Quality Control Council of Canada
15606A 116th Avenue, Edmonton, Alberta, T5M 3S5
Contact: Brian Paradis
Telephone: (780) 488-3455
Fax: (780) 488-3485
Email: Brian@qcccanada.com
Training in: RT-2, MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, UT-2, UT-3

Red Flame NDT Services Ltd.
6736 - 71 Street, Red Deer, Alberta T4P 3Y7
Contact: Tim Rosenkranz
Email: trosenkranz@redflame.ca
Telephone: (403) 343-2012
Fax: (403) 343-6202
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2

Rees NDT Inspection Services LTD.
9113 - 111 Street, Grande Prairie, Alberta, T8V 4M5
Contact: John Molloy, Ron Vader
Telephone: (780) 539-3594
Fax: (780) 532-8047
Email: jmolloy@reesndt.comronvader@reesndt.com
Training in: PT-2, MT-2, UT-1, UT-2, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
1301 - 16 Avenue Northwest, Calgary, Alberta, T2M 0L4
Contact: Tracey Cunningham
Telephone: (403) 210-4344
Fax: (403) 210-5829
Email: tracey.cunningham@sait.ca
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2, ET-1, ET-2, RT-1, RT-2, RT-3

UT Quality Inc.
1431 70th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta, T6P 1N5
Contact: Kevin Hodgins
Telephone: (780) 438-3005
Fax: (780) 438-0800
Email: kevin@utquality.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2, Math Prerequisite for NDT

Wesley H. Weber – NDT Training
#304, 4607-20th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta, T6L 5W7
Contact: Wesley (Wes) H. Weber
Telephone: (780) 619-8395
Email: ndt.training2014@gmail.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2

WorldSpec NDT Training – A Division of Hellier NDT
4810 93 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta, T6E 5W3
Telephone: Toll Free: (877) 506-7773
Email: info@worldspec.org
Training in: UT-1 Practical Only

Manitoba

NET-CON
P.O. Box 17000, Suite 58, STN FORCES, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3J 3Y5
Contact: Kenneth J. Laurie
Telephone: (204) 995-5365
Email: ken_laurie@mts.net
Training in : PT-2, MT-2, UT-1, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Red River College, Stevenson Campus
Aviation & Aerospace
2280 Saskatchewan Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3J 3Y9
Contact: Ms. Vadsana Phommainh, Telephone: 204-945-56001
Email: stevensonaviation@rrc.ca
Training: PT-2, MT-2, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Ontario

Acuren Group Inc.
2190 Speers Road, Oakville, Ontario, L6L 2X8
Contact: John Zirnhelt
Telephone: 905-825-8595
Fax: 905-825-8598
Email: jzirnhelt@acuren.com
Training in : MT-2, UT-2

Canadian Institute for NDE
135 Fennell Avenue West, Hamilton, Ontario, L8N 3T2
Contact: Sharon Bond
Telephone: (905) 387-1655
Fax: (905) 574-6080
Email: s.bond@cinde.ca
Training in: RT-1-2-3, MT-2-3, PT-2-3, UT-1-2-3, ET-1-2-3, On-line courses and examinations for Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

CWB Institute (CWBi)
8260 Parkhill Drive, Milton, Ontario, L9T 5V7
Contact: Patrick Debideen or Cam Edgar
Telephone: (800) 844-6790
Email: info@cwbgroup.org
Training in: RT-1, RT-2, RT-3, UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, PT-2, PT-3, MT-2, MT-3, ET-1, ET-2, ET-3 Materials and Processes and Math for NDT, Film Interpretation

Durham College
2000 Simcoe St N., Oshawa, Ontario, L1H 7K4
Contact: Katy Zaidman
Telephone: (905) 721-3111 (Ext. 2063)
Email: katy.zaidman@durhamc.on.ca
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2, RT-1, ET-1, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Eclipse Scientific Products Inc.
97 Randell Drive, Unit 2, Waterloo, Ontario, N2V 1C5
Contact: Larry Etherington
Telephone: (519) 886-6717 (Ext. 222)
Fax: (519) 886-1102
Email: letherington@eclipsescientific.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy Canada Inc.
1160 Monaghan Rd. Peterborough, Ontario, K9J 7B5
Contact: Harris Goodyear
Telephone: 705-748-7924
Fax: 705-748-8166
Email: harris.goodyear@ge.com
Training in: UT-1

Intech International Inc.
20 Innovations Drive, Dundas, Ontario, L9H 7P3
Contact: Steve Simpson
Telephone: (905) 689-7300
Fax: (905) 689-3300
Email: ssimpson@intech-intl.com
Training in: ET-1, ET-2, ET-3, UT-1

Northern College of Applied Arts and Technology
140 Government Road East, Kirkland Lake, Ontario, P2N 3L8
Contact: Joshua Fuller
Telephone: (705) 567-9291 (Ext: 3750)
Fax: (705) 568-8186
Email: fullerj@northern.on.ca
Training in: UT-1, MT-2, PT-2, RT-1

Ontario Power Generation, Inspection and Maintenance Services
230 Westney Road South, Ajax, Ontario, L1S 7R3
Contact: Karen Mitchell
Telephone: (905) 428-4000 (Ext. 4014)
Email: Karen.mitchell@opg.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, ET-1, ET-2

RDTech Probes Inc.
P.O. Box 1599, Deep River, Ontario, K0J 1P0
Contact: Val Cecco
Telephone: (613) 589-1441
Fax: (613) 584-1441
Email: val.cecco@rd-tech.com
Training in: ET-1 and ET-2

Specialized NDE Inc.
100 Easton Road, Unit 1-3, Brantford Ontario, N3P 1J5
Contact: Eric Kivlin
Telephone: (905) 667-4630
Email: ekivlin@specializednde.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, ET-1, ET-2, ET-3, MT-2, MT-3, PT-2, PT-3

Taylor Corp Inc.
3182 Orlando Drive, Units 10-12, Mississagua, Ontario, L4V 1R5
Contact: Sudhir Ramaurishna
Telephone: (905) 678-9980
Fax: (905) 678-0349
Email: sudhirr@taylor-corp.com
Training in : PT-2, MT-2

Quebec

Alstom Power
7B Place du Commerce, Brossard, Québec, J3P 2E4
Contact: Guy Berube
Telephone: (450) 923-7070
Fax: (450) 465-4403
Training in: UT-1 and UT-2

CEGEP de Lapocatière
Lapocatière, Québec, G0Z 1Z0
Contact: Yves Lamontagne
Telephone: (418) 856-1525 (Ext. 2278)
Fax: (418) 856-5914
Email: ylamontagne@cegeplapocatiere.qc.ca
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2

CEGEP de Trois-Rivières
3500 rue de Courval, Trois Rivières, Québec, G9A 5E6
Contact: Essais non destructifs
Telephone: (819) 376-1721 (Ext. 2273)
Fax: (819) 691-1256
Email: end.ndt@cegeptr.qc.ca     
Training in: ET-1, ET-2, UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, MT-2, MT-3, PT-2, PT-3, RT-1, RT-2, RT-3, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

FGG Inspection Inc.
700-15 Lajeunesse, Kingsey Falls, Québec, J0A 1B0
Contact: Christian Croteau
Telephone: (819) 363-9344
Fax: (819) 363-2272
Email: chrisc@fgginsp.com
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, ET-1 and 2, UT-1, UT- 2, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Géni Métal Laboratoire de Métaux
139 rue d'Amsterdam, Saint-Augustin, Québec, G3A 2V5
Contact: Serge Tremblay
Telephone: (418) 878-3218
Fax: (418) 878-3257
Email: metalqa@videotron.ca
Training in: MT-2, UT-1 and UT-2

INSPEC-SOL inc.
3061 rue Joseph-A.-Bombardier, Laval, Québec, H7P 6C5
Contact: Robert Labelle
Telephone: (514) 333-5151 (Ext. 2003)
Fax: (514) 333-4674
Email: rlabelle@inspecsol.com
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, UT-2

Laboratoire D'Essai Mequaltech
8740 Boulevard Pie IX, Montréal, Québec, H1Z 3V1
Contact: Yvan Couture
Telephone: (514) 593-5755
Fax: (514) 593-8338
Email: y.couture@mequaltech.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2, RT-1, RT-2, Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Lab Can Ltée
175 Dessureaut, Trois-Rivières, Québec, G8T 2L5
Contact: François Rodier
Telephone: (819) 378-8612
Fax: (819) 378-9449
Email: frodier@labcan.com
Training in: RT-1 and RT-2

Les Inspections Atlas Québec Inc.
12200 April street, Montréal, Québec, H1B 5N5
Telephone: (514) 645-2209
Fax : (514) 645-5333 
Training in: RT-1 and RT-2

Métaltec Inc.
2883, boul. de la Rive-Sud, Lévis, Québec, G6V 7M5
Telephone: (418) 837-4664
Fax: (418) 837-4784
Email: courrier@metaltec.net
Training in: UT-1 and UT-2

Métaltec inc.
765, rue de l’Église, St-Romuald, Québec, G6W 5M6
Telephone: (418) 837-4664
Fax: (418) 837-4784
Email: info@metaltec.net
Training in: MT-2, RT-1, RT-2, UT-1, UT-2, ET-1, ET-2, Math and Materials and Processes Prerequisite for NDT

Omnitest NDT
11770, boulevard Saint-Claude, Quebec, Quebec, G2B 1H2
Contact: Sylvain Tremblay
Telephone: 418-574-6684
Email: sylvain.tremblay@omnitestndt.com
Training in: MT-2, UT-1 and UT-2

Nucleom
1695, rue du Grand-Tronc, Québec, Québec, G1N 4G1
Contact: Francis Boudreault-Leclerc
Telephone: (418) 614-7111 ext. 210
Fax: (581)-742-3997
E-Mail: fbleclerc@nucleom.ca
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, UT-2 and UT-3

SGS X-Per-X Inc.
3420 boulevard Saint Joseph Est, Montréal, Québec, H1X 1W6
Contact: Gérard Landry
Telephone: (514) 255-1492
Fax: (514) 252-0071
Email: gerard.landry@sgs.com
Training in: RT-1, RT-2, RT-3, UT-1, UT-2, UT-3, ET-1, ET-2, MT-2, and PT-2

SGS Canada Inc.
2345 de la Métallurgie Street, Jonquière, Québec, G7X 0B8
Contact: Louis Munger
Telephone: (418) 547-6631
Fax:: (418) 547-6896
Email: louis.munger@sgs.com
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2

Shellcast
10645 Lamoureux, Montréal Nord, Québec, H1G 5L4
Contact: Wolfgang Casta
Telephone: (514) 322-3760
Fax: (514) 322-7226
Email: qadept@shellcast.com
Training in : PT-2

TechnickRome
12 264 April, Montréal, Québec, H1B 5N5
Contact: Fausto Mini
Telephone: (514) 640-0333
Fax: (514) 640-6457
Email: fausto.mini@tecnickrome.com
Training in: PT-2

Nova Scotia

Passmore Inspection & Consulting Limited
10 Faulkner Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, B3A 3A3
Contact: Richard Passmore
Telephone: (902) 463-7378
Fax: (902) 461-1520
Email: richard@passmoreinsp.com
Training in: UT-1

Prince Edward Island

Vector Aerospace Engine Services - Atlantic Inc.
P.O. Box 150 Hang. 8 Slemon Park, Summerside, Prince Edward Island, C1N 4P6
Contact: Carter Walsh
Telephone: (902) 436-1333
Fax: (902) 888-4779
Email: carter.walsh@vectorareospace.com
Training in: MT-2 and PT-2

Newfoundland

College of the North Atlantic Port aux Basques Campus
P.O. Box 760, Port aux Basques, Newfoundland, A0M 1C0
Contact: Jan Peddle
Telephone: (709) 695-3343 (Ext. 24)
Fax: (709) 695-2963
Email: jan.peddle@cna.nl.ca
Training in: RT-1, RT-2, UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2, Math and Materials and Processes Pre-requisites Prerequisite for NDT

Eastern Technical Services Ltd.
P.O. Box 13517, Austin Street, St. John's, Newfoundland, A1B 4B8
Contact: Fred O'Keefe
Telephone: (709) 726-4622
Fax: (709) 726-4626
Email: fokeefe@nl.rogers.com
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, UT-2, ET-1, ET-2, RT-1, RT-2.

Haas Inspection Service
199 Tolt Rd. St. Philip's, Newfoundland, A1M 1R6
Contact: Clayton Haas, Peter Smith
Telephone: (709) 895-2170
Email: claytonhaas@hotmail.com
Training in: UT-2

Spectrol Energy Services
1 Duffy Place, 2nd Floor, Saint John’s, Newfoundland, A1B 4M6
Contact: Cecil Barnes
Telephone: (709) 758-4994
Fax: (709) 891-2256
Email: cbarnes@spectrolgroup.com
Training in: MT-2, PT-2

Thornhill Inspection Services Inc.
74 Western Island Pond Drive, Torbay, Newfoundland, A1K 1L7
Contact: Ross Thornhill
Telephone: (709) 769-4340
Fax: (866) 708-5788
Email: ross@thornhillinspection.ca
Training in: UT-1, MT-2, PT-2

Trinidad

NDE Institute of Trinidad Ltd.
#15 Robertson Street, Les Efforts East,
San Fernando, Trinidad, W.I.
Contact: Sonny James
Telephone: (868) 653-9343
Fax: (868) 657-6572
Email: sjames@learnndt.com
Training in: MT-2, PT-2, UT-1, UT-2

 

ACCEPTED TRAINING ORGANIZATIONS: ONLINE COURSES

Note: A Practical workshop is mandatory for all correspondence courses.

In order to provide candidates with the appropriate learning experience, the NRCan NDT CB is recommending that a minimum of 40% of course time be devoted to practical hands-on training. For example, a 40-hour course would require a minimum of 16 hours of practical workshop training.

WorldSpec NDT Training – A Division of Hellier NDT
1541 East 12th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia, V5N 2A3
Contact: Parker Ray
Telephone: Toll Free: (877) 506-7773
Email: info@worldspec.org
Training in: UT-1, UT-2, MT-2, PT-2, RT-1, RT-2

Note that practical workshops are still mandatory for correspondence courses. At least 40% of course time should be devoted to practical, hands-on training.

Contact NDT

Find out how to contact the NRCan National NDT Certification Body, including our opening hours and how to direct your inquiry.

Find out more