Polar Continental Shelf Program Advisory Board

Terms of Reference


  • To provide Polar Continental Shelf Program (PCSP) and senior managers in Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) with guidance and advice on:
    • the logistical services and directions for PCSP to meet the needs of Arctic science;
    • the screening processes of project proposals; and
    • the consideration of traditional knowledge and Arctic communities' interests.
  • To provide a forum:
    • to allow federal, provincial and territorial agencies as well as universities involved in Arctic research to inform PCSP of their medium- and long-term priorities in the Arctic;
    • to allow PCSP to communicate its strategies in support of Arctic research, to discuss logistics priorities, and to coordinate activities between logistics providers; and
    • for PCSP and participating agencies to discuss and comment on logistical requirements needed to support Arctic research of the future.


The Board reports to the NRCan Director General responsible for PCSP.


Members, including the Chairperson, shall be invited by the NRCan Director General responsible for PCSP to serve for a term of up to three years. Terms may be renewed. Members should be selected from the main client base of PCSP, on a rotational basis.

The number of members will be limited to fourteen, with considerations as follows:

  • Four members should be selected from federal government departments and agencies (e.g., NRCan, Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, National Museums of Canada, National Defence, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, Canadian Coast Guard, Canadian Polar Commission, and the federal granting councils).
  • Four members should be selected from the academic community (e.g., universities, ArcticNet, Association of Canadian Universities for Northern Studies, Centre d'Études Nordiques, Canadian Circumpolar Institute).
  • Four members should be selected from Aboriginal Peoples' organizations, territorial governments and agencies.
  • Membership will include two ex-officio members: the Director of PCSP and the Chairperson of the Project Review Committee (PRC).
  • No replacement is allowed, as members are selected for their personal knowledge and expertise.
  • The members are to keep in confidence the deliberations associated with the evaluation of project proposals, and will be asked to sign a Confidentiality and Non-Disclosure Declaration upon becoming a Board member.

Meetings and Administration

The PCSP Advisory Board is supported by PCSP staff. Meetings are usually called twice per year, and include a face-to-face meeting in December.

Minutes of the meetings are prepared by PCSP staff for approval by the members.

Other invitees with polar interests may be requested to attend meetings from time to time, depending on the agenda of the meetings. Visiting invitees participate at the discretion of the Chairperson.

Members are responsible for identifying conflicts of interest and the Chairperson is responsible for the management of these issues during the meetings.


Members serve without remuneration and can apply for reimbursement of travel and living expenses associated with Board meetings, in accordance with Treasury Board guidelines.

PCSP Advisory Board Members

Dr. Martin Fortier (PCSP Advisory Board Chair)
Executive Director, ArcticNet
Laval University
Québec, Québec

Dr. Marianne Douglas
Professor - Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Director - Canadian Circumpolar Institute
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta

Ms. Siu-Ling Han
Head - Eastern Arctic Unit
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Iqaluit, Nunavut

Dr. David Hik
Professor and Canada Research Chair in Northern Ecology, Tier 2
Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta

Mr. Michael Jordan
A/Director – Polar Continental Shelf Program
Earth Sciences Sector - Natural Resources Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Dr. Mario Lamarca
Director, Life Sciences and Geosciences Division
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario

Dr. Scott Lamoureux
Associate Professor, Department of Geography
Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario

Mr. Martin Lebeuf
Manager, Applied Science
Planetary Exploration and Space Astronomy
Canadian Space Agency
St-Hubert, Quebec

Mr. Scot Nickels
Senior Science Advisor
Director of the Inuit Qaujisarvingat: The Inuit Knowledge Centre
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
Ottawa, Ontario

Dr. Wayne H. Pollard
Professor, Department of Geography
McGill University
Montreal, Quebec

Mr. Clint Sawicki
Coordinator - Northern Research Institute
Yukon College
Whitehorse, Yukon

Ms. Pippa Seccombe-Hett
Director - Aurora Research Institute
Aurora College
Inuvik, Northwest Territories

Ms. Mary Ellen Thomas
Senior Research Officer and
Government of Nunavut Science Advisor
Nunavut Research Institute
Iqaluit, Nunavut

Dr. Robert Young
Division Manager - Arctic Aquatic Research Division
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Winnipeg, Manitoba