Language selection


Spatial framework

NFCMARS employs a nested ecological framework, consisting, at the highest level, of 18 reporting zones based on the Terrestrial Ecozones of Canada. Beneath these, the framework includes 60 reconciliation units. These are the geographic entities formed by the intersection of Reporting Zones with the provincial and territorial boundaries. They are used to reconcile data from multiple agencies during estimate development. The compilation of land and activity data, and the calculation of estimates, occurs at a finer geographic resolution using areas called analysis units.  Forest-related data have been compiled for over 500 analysis units that are delineated by the boundaries of forest management units, parks and ecological zones. Analysis units are nested within reconciliation units.

Reporting zones

Reporting Zones: Arctic Cordillera, Northern Arctic, Southern Arctic, Taiga Plains, Taiga Shield West, Boreal Shield West, Atlantic Maritime, Mixedwood Plains, Boreal Plains, Subhumid Prairies, Taiga Cordillera, Boreal Cordillera, Pacific Maritime, Montane Cordillera, Hudson Plains, Taiga Shield East, Boreal Shield East, Semiarid Prairies

Reconciliation units

Reconciliation Units 1-60
Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: