Language selection



Energy Star logo

Buy ENERGY STAR® to save you money!

An ENERGY STAR certified fridge (refrigerator) uses 10% less energy, on average, than a standard model. Fridges that have earned the ENERGY STAR Most Efficient designation are the best of the best – they’ll save you more energy than standard models. Saving energy saves money and reduces your carbon footprint.

Key features

  • A top-freezer refrigerator that is ENERGY STAR certified uses less energy than a 60-watt light bulb.
  • Improvements in insulation and compressors contribute to energy savings.

Start your research using the ENERGY STAR Product Finder tool to find and compare certified fridges (NOTE: you will be redirected to the US ENERGY STAR website.)

Once you find a couple of fridge models, you can compare how much energy they’ll use every year and over their lifetime using this handy comparison tool.

Helpful tips

  • When you buy a new fridge, recycle the old one. Don’t put the old one in the garage or take it to the cottage! The old one likely uses as much as twice as much energy as your new ENERGY STAR model.
  • Position your fridge away from heat sources. This includes ovens, dishwashers, heating vents and direct sunlight.
  • Set the fridge between 1.7° and 3.3°C (35° and 38°F) and the freezer at -18°C (0°F). These temperatures promote maximum efficiency and food safety.
  • Clean the condenser coils regularly. Accumulated dust and pet hair can restrict airflow, causing the motor to work harder and use more energy.
  • Allow for airflow inside. Don’t overfill the fridge or freezer compartment.
  • Keep the door seals clean and tight. If a sheet of paper placed in the door slides around or slips out, or if light from a flashlight placed inside can be seen through the seals, it’s time to replace the seals.

What’s in a label?

EnerGuide logo

Fridges in Canada can have two labels:

  • The ENERGY STAR symbol means the model is highly energy efficient.
  • The EnerGuide label shows the model’s energy consumption and how it compares to similar models. Learn more about EnerGuide labels for appliances, and learn more about EnerGuide labels for fridges.

Refrigerator types

Refrigeration units fall into four main groups:

  • models without automatic defrost—standard-size refrigerators and refrigerator-freezers
  • models with automatic defrost—standard-size refrigerators and refrigerator-freezers
  • compact models—refrigerators and refrigerator-freezers with total refrigerated volumes of less than 219.5 L (7.74 cu. ft.) and overall heights of less than 91.4 cm (36 in.)
  • For more information on types, see the energy efficiency standard table for refrigerators, and refrigerator-freezers


All ENERGY STAR certified products are tested to meet strict efficiency specifications and are certified by an independent third party. They perform the same as or better than standard products without compromising performance in any way.

Regulations set the energy efficiency minimum

Refrigerators, refrigerator freezers and miscellaneous refrigeration products such as coolers and wine chillers are subject to Canada's Energy Efficiency Regulations, which set a minimum performance standard for their energy efficiency. Find details in the Guide to the Regulations.

The ENERGY STAR name and symbol are trademarks registered in Canada by the United States Environmental Protection Agency and are administered and promoted by Natural Resources Canada.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: