About the CIPEC Leadership Awards

The CIPEC Leadership Awards originated in 2005, when the Office of Energy Efficiency (OEE) created the Industrial Energy Innovator Energy Efficiency Awards. The first awards ceremony took place during the Energy 2005 conference in Ottawa, kick starting a biennial tradition of celebrating industrial organizations that have made exceptional advances in energy management.

In 2011, the Future Leaders Award category was created to honour post-secondary students and recent graduates whose projects or initiatives have impacted industrial energy efficiency in a considerable way.

OEE selects winners by evaluating nominated projects in each of the six award categories against a clear set of criteria, including the project’s improved energy intensity, potential for broader use, contribution to the environment, innovation, and the quality of the submission.

Past Award Winners

Read about past Award Winners in the Heads Up CIPEC newsletter and the CIPEC Annual Report.