Basic server types

A computer server is typically used in a data centre or office environment, working to provide services and handle resources for other computers or devices on a network. A server is accessed through a network connection rather than through an input device such as a keyboard or mouse.

There are four basic types of computer servers defined in the ENERGY STAR® technical specification.

Energy Star logo

Blade server
This type of server is designed for use in a blade chassis. These servers are high-density devices that include at least one processor and system memory, but depend on shared blade chassis resources such as power supplies and cooling for operation.

Multi-node server
These devices are designed with two or more independent computer nodes that share a single enclosure and one or more power supplies. Power is distributed to all nodes through these shared power supplies. The server nodes are not designed to be hot-swappable.

Pedestal server
A self-contained computer server that is designed with power supply units (PSUs), cooling, data input and output (I/O) devices, and other resources necessary for stand-alone operation. The frame of a pedestal server is similar to that of a tower client computer.

Rack-mounted server
A computer server that is designed for deployment in a standard 19-inch data centre rack as defined by EIA-310, IEC 60297, or DIN 41494 (excluding blade servers).

The ENERGY STAR name and symbol are trademarks registered in Canada by the United States Environmental Protection Agency and are administered and promoted by Natural Resources Canada.