Utilities and program administrators—ENERGY STAR Canada Participants

Energy Star logo

Utilities, which generate, transmit and/or distribute electricity or natural gas also administer energy efficiency programs. They are listed by province where they operate in Canada.

Energy efficiency program administrators use ENERGY STAR® to promote energy efficiency and frequently partner with retailers, manufacturers and other stakeholders to offer incentives, rebates or consumer educational programs.

Participants are eligible for the annual ENERGY STAR Canada Awards

British Columbia

BC Hydro — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2011, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003

FortisBC Inc. — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2013, 2012 (Terasen Gas -2006, 2004)


ATCO Gas and Pipelines

Energy Efficiency Alberta

Enmax Energy Corporation


SaskEnergy Inc. — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2005, 2004



Manitoba Hydro — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2017, 2016, 2010, 2006, 2005


Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc. — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2004

Erie Thames Power

Festival Hydro Incorporated

Grimsby Power Incorporated

Hawkesbury Hydro Inc.

Hydro One Networks Inc. — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2017

Hydro One Remote Communities Inc.

Hydro Ottawa Ltd — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2016

Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) (formerly The Ontario Power Authority) — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2016, 2011, 2008

Kingston Utilities

Kitchener Utilities

Kitchener-Wilmot Hydro Inc.

London Hydro — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2009, 2007

Niagara Peninsula Energy Inc.

Niagara-on-the-Lake Hydro Inc.— ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2014

Peterborough Utilities Services Inc.

Thunder Bay Hydro — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2008

Toronto Hydro Corporation

Union Gas Ltd.

Veridian Connections Inc.— ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2010


Énergir (formerly Gaz Métro) — ENERGY STAR Award Winner  — 2004

Hydro-Québec — ENERGY STAR Award Winner  — 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2005

New Brunswick

Enbridge Gas New Brunswick

New Brunswick Power— ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2016

Saint John Energy — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2017

Prince Edward Island

Maritime Electric — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2011


Nova Scotia

Efficiency Nova Scotia — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2016, 2007

Nova Scotia Power

Newfoundland and Labrador

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

Newfoundland Power


Energy Solutions Centre - Government of Yukon (formerly the Yukon Development Corporation) — ENERGY STAR Award Winner — 2003

Northwest Territories

Arctic Energy Alliance


Climate Change Center (Government of Nunavut)

The ENERGY STAR name and symbol are trademarks registered in Canada by the United States Environmental Protection Agency and are administered and promoted by Natural Resources Canada.