Language selection


The Five As

Winning qualities of market transformation

Energy Star logo

How does NRCan award its ENERGY STAR® Market Transformation Awards?

We assess Participants who apply on how well they advance the “Five As” of market transformation:

The ENERGY STAR qualified product/s are readily available across the market; i.e. there is a choice of models on the market.

The ENERGY STAR advantage is promoted and demonstrated by the Participant so as to raise consumer awareness of the energy savings over the life of the product.

Canadians across the country are able to get information about and shop for ENERGY STAR qualified products, whether at a store, through a contractor or online.

ENERGY STAR qualified products are competitively priced against similar models and affordable to consumers because of the energy savings over the life of the product.

The ENERGY STAR qualified product is a credible choice and is popular with consumers. This finding is supported by sales data, surveys and other research.

The “Five As” reflect ENERGY STAR’s guiding principles which are described in the U.S. EPA’s document: Strategic Vision and Guiding Principles.

The ENERGY STAR name and symbol are administered and promoted in Canada by Natural Resources Canada and are registered in Canada by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: