Canada’s standard for efficient light bulbs


Effective January 1, 2014, there are new minimum energy performance standards for light bulbs in Canada.

Frequently asked questions

The standards allow for a variety of lighting options including incandescent halogen, compact fluorescent and light emitting diode light bulbs.  

Lighting Options

Halogen bulbs

A halogen light bulb

Halogen incandescent bulbs use at least 28% less energy, and can last up to three times longer than traditional incandescent bulbs. There are two types of these bulbs available in a wide range of shapes and colors, that can be used anywhere an incandescent bulb is used and they produce the same amount of light with less energy.

Compact fluorescent light bulbs (CFLs):

A compact fluorescent light bulb

Improvements to CFLs since their introduction in the 1980s include:better colour rendering, less mercury content, elimination of buzz or flicker, instant start up, and dimmability. CFLs can produce the same light output and warm colours as incandescent light bulbs and are far more energy efficient. ENERGY STAR® certified CFLs use up to 75% less energy. Many CFLs last 8 or more times as long as traditional incandescents.  Some CFLs are encased in a cover to further diffuse the light, providing a similar shape to traditional incandescent bulbs and providing extra breakage protection. 

Light-emitting diodes (LEDs):

A light-emitting diode light bulb (LED)

LED bulbs offer similar light quality to traditional incandescents, last 25 times as long, and use even less energy than CFLs. They are dimmable, start up fast and can operate in all weather conditions.  They are available for many applications in a variety of shapes and colours.

The ENERGY STAR name and symbol are trademarks registered in Canada by the United States Environmental Protection Agency and are administered and promoted by Natural Resources Canada.