Former Deputy Ministers

Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) traces its beginnings to the founding of the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) on April 14, 1842 — a full 25 years before Confederation — when Christopher Dunkin was appointed first Deputy Provincial Secretary for Canada East.

The title of Deputy Minister wasn’t adopted until Confederation in 1867, when the Office of the Secretary of State for the Provinces was abolished and the Ministry of Interior was officially created.

Since the establishment of the Department in 1842, there have been 34 Natural Resources Deputy Ministers. Learn more about each below.