ARCHIVED - The Media Room

Information Archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Natural Resources Canada
November 30, 2011 

Canadian Industry Awarded for
Leadership in Energy Efficiency

TORONTO — Excellence in energy efficiency was on display yesterday at the Energy 2011 conference in Toronto. Co-hosted by Natural Resources Canada, the Canadian Industry Program for Energy Conservation (CIPEC) and the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters, the conference saw a total of 12 CIPEC Leadership Awards presented to companies and individuals in recognition of their significant and innovative contributions to energy efficiency.

“The Government of Canada congratulates the recipients of the CIPEC Leadership Awards for their innovation in energy efficiency,” said David Anderson, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Natural Resources. “These companies and individuals are to be commended on their actions to improve productivity and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.”

The CIPEC Leadership Awards celebrate the achievements of Canada’s industrial companies and raise awareness that energy efficiency improves the bottom line and contributes to a cleaner environment.

Funded under Natural Resource’s ecoENERGY Efficiency for Industry Initiative, CIPEC is a voluntary industry–government partnership established to improve Canada’s industrial energy efficiency. It is made up of 26 task forces covering more than 50 trade associations. Each task force represents companies that are engaged in similar industrial activities.

Award Winners:

Process and Technology Improvements

  • ArcelorMittal Dofasco Inc.
  • Kruger Products Ltd.

Employee Awareness and Training

  • Irving Paper Limited
  • S.A. Armstrong Limited

Corporate Stewardship

  • Broan-NuTone Canada Inc.
  • Kraft Foods Inc. (Cadbury Adams)

Monitoring and Tracking

  • Flakeboard Company Ltd.
  • Groupe Savoie Inc.

Integrated Energy Efficiency Strategy

  • Cascades GIE Inc.
  • IBM Canada Ltée

Future Leaders Awards

  • Nathaniel Gosman
  • Hossein Safaei

For a complete description of each winner’s achievements, visit Natural Resources Canada’s Office of Energy Efficiency website at

Media may contact:

Patricia Best
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister
Natural Resources Canada


Media Relations
Natural Resources Canada

The general public may contact:

Mon.–Fri., 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. EST
Telephone: 613-995-0947
TTY: 613-996-4397
(teletype for the hearing-impaired)


NRCan's news releases and backgrounders are available at