ARCHIVED - The Media Room

Information Archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

October 7, 2011

Minister Oliver Announces New Chair and CEO of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited

OTTAWA — The Honourable Joe Oliver, Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the appointment of Peter Currie as the new Chair of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL). Mr. Currie, who joined AECL’s Board in summer 2008, is an experienced director and business leader with 35 years in finance and accounting.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing Chair, Glenna Carr, for her dedicated leadership of the AECL Board through an important period of restructuring,” said Minister Oliver.

The Minister further announced the appointment of Dr. Robert Walker as the new Chief Executive Officer of AECL. Dr. Walker joined AECL in 2010 following a distinguished career in the Government of Canada with more than 25 years’ experience in science and technology management.

At the same time, the Minister thanked the outgoing CEO Hugh MacDiarmid. “Mr. MacDiarmid has provided four years of loyal service in managing the affairs of AECL over a period of global and domestic challenge.”

The changes in AECL leadership are further to the acquisition on October 2, 2011, of the assets of the CANDU Reactor Division of AECL by Candu Energy Inc, a wholly owned subsidiary of SNC-Lavalin Group Inc. This transaction marks the beginning of a new period for CANDU technology under the leadership of Candu Energy Inc. The Minister expressed his confidence in the contribution of this transaction to a vibrant Canadian nuclear industry that can meet the needs for non-emitting electrical power in Canadian and export markets.

The new AECL leadership will focus its attention on the Nuclear Laboratories Division of AECL, which has a staff of more than 3,000, mainly in Chalk River, Ontario, and Whiteshell, Manitoba. The division manages legacy nuclear waste, conducts nuclear research and development and produces medical isotopes.

Media may contact:
Julie Di Mambro
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister
Natural Resources Canada


Media Relations
Natural Resources Canada

The general public may contact:

Mon.–Fri., 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. EDT
Telephone: 613-995-0947
TTY: 613-996-4397
(teletype for the hearing-impaired)

The following media backgrounder is available at:
Biographical Notes: Peter Currie and Robert Walker

NRCan’s news releases and backgrounders are available at