ARCHIVED - Panel to Be Established to Select New Chair and CEO of Canada–Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board

Information Archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Natural Resources Canada

December 20, 2012

OTTAWA The process to establish a selection panel to appoint a new full-time Chair and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) for the Canada–Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board (C–NLOPB) has been launched under the terms of the Canada–Newfoundland Atlantic Accord Implementation Act. The position of Chair and CEO became vacant on October 26, 2012. Until a new Chair and CEO is named, the Board has designated Ed Drover as Acting Chair and Max Ruelokke as Acting CEO.

“We are working with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador toward the appointment of a new, qualified full-time Chair and CEO,” said the Honourable Joe Oliver, Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources. “The outcome of this independent selection process will be new leadership of the Board that is based on merit and ability by early 2013.”

The Canada–Newfoundland Atlantic Accord Implementation Act provides for the creation of a selection panel. Both the federal and provincial governments must appoint one member to the selection panel within 30 days. The two members will have 30 days to appoint the Chair of the selection panel. Once the selection panel is in place, the position of Chair and CEO of the CNLOPB must be filled within 60 days.

The C–NLOPB manages the petroleum resources in the Newfoundland offshore area on behalf of the Government of Canada and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Board's authority is derived from the legislation implementing the 1985 Atlantic Accord between the two governments.

Media may contact: 

Media Relations
Natural Resources Canada

The general public may contact: 

Mon.–Fri., 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. EST
Telephone: 613-995-0947
TTY: 613-996-4397
(teletype for the hearing-impaired)