ARCHIVED - Minister Oliver announces 2013 ENERGY STAR® Award Recipients

Information Archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

November 18, 2013

OTTAWA — Today, the Honourable Joe Oliver, Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources, announced the recipients of the 2013 ENERGY STAR® Market Transformation Awards for advancing energy efficiency. The awards recognize leadership in offering Canadian consumers the most energy-efficient products and technology available on the market. They are presented to utility providers, manufacturers, retailers, advocates and home builders that have shown leadership in manufacturing and promoting energy-efficient products. 

“Energy efficiency improvements help lower costs for Canadian families and businesses while safeguarding the environment,” said Minister Oliver. “This year’s ENERGY STAR award recipients have demonstrated real leadership in promoting the benefits of energy-efficient products and technology to Canadians.”

The ENERGY STAR symbol helps consumers identify products that save energy by identifying the most energy-efficient products in their category. Canadians buy millions of ENERGY STAR-qualified products every year across a wide range of categories — from washing machines, furnaces and televisions to light bulbs, computers and ceiling fans. To date, the ENERGY STAR Program in Canada has more than 1,800 ENERGY STAR-participant organizations — including new home builders — in over 60 product categories.

Award Winners:

New Homes Builder of the Year - Tartan Homes
New Homes Promotional Campaign of the Year - Eastforest Homes Ltd.
Manufacturer of the Year - BSH Home Appliances Ltd.
Manufacturer of the Year - Fenestration Products - All Weather Windows Ltd.
Retailer of the Year - Sears Canada Inc.
Utility of the Year – Provincial - Hydro-Québec
Utility of the Year – Regional - FortisBC
Advocate of the Year - Efficiency Nova Scotia Corporation
Promotional Campaign of the Year - Hydro-Québec
Sustained Excellence - Whirlpool Canada LP

ENERGY STAR originated in the United States and has been administered in Canada since 2001 by Natural Resources Canada in full collaboration with the US Environmental Protection Agency. Since 2005, Canadians can also choose ENERGY STAR-qualified homes that are designed and built to achieve maximum energy efficiency making it easy for businesses and consumers to save money and protect the environment.

Media may contact: 

David Provencher
Press Secretary
Office of Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources


Media Relations
Natural Resources Canada

The general public may contact: 

Mon.–Fri., 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. EST
Telephone: 613-995-0947
TTY: 613-996-4397
(teletype for the hearing-impaired)