ARCHIVED - Minister Oliver Announces Appointment of New Members to the Canada-Newfoundland Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board

Information Archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

June 11, 2013

OTTAWA — The Honourable Joe Oliver, Canada’s Minister of Natural Resources, today announced the appointment of Lidija Cicnjak-Chubbs and Cynthia Hickman as federal members of the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board (C-NLOPB).

“I am pleased to announce the appointment of two new members of the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board,” said Minister Oliver. “Ms. Cicnjak-Chubbs brings years of experience and expertise from her background in environmental sciences and Ms. Hickman brings valuable financial management skills and expertise to the Board from her background in accounting and executive management. Both will be assets to the Board as it fulfils its important mandate.”

Ms. Cicnjak-Chubbs has 20 years of experience as an environmental scientist with a wide-ranging career in both the private and public sectors. She is currently the Environment and Loss Control Manager for the Goose Bay location of Serco Facilities Management Inc., where she oversees hazardous waste management, including hazardous material spill response.

Ms. Hickman is a Certified Management Accountant and has over 10 years of experience working in senior management positions with a focus on finance within the health care industry. She is currently an instructor with the College of the North Atlantic, where she teaches accounting and business-related courses.

The C-NLOPB manages the petroleum resources in the Newfoundland offshore area on behalf of the Government of Canada and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Board has four key mandates: Offshore Safety, Environmental Protection, Resource Management and Industrial Benefits. The Board is composed of seven people; a Chair and CEO appointed jointly by the federal and provincial governments, three members appointed by the federal government and three members appointed by the provincial government.

Media may contact: 

David Provencher
Press Secretary
Office of Canada's Minister of
Natural Resources


Media Relations
Natural Resources Canada

The general public may contact: 

Mon.–Fri., 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. EDT
Telephone: 613-995-0947
TTY: 613-996-4397
(teletype for the hearing-impaired)

Follow us on Twitter: @NRCan (

The following media backgrounder is available at      

  1. Biographical Notes: Lidija Cicnjak-Chubbs, Cynthia Hickman

NRCan’s news releases and backgrounders are available at