ARCHIVED - The Media Room

Information Archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

2010/21 (a)


Atlantic Regional Adaptation Collaborative: Atlantic Climate Adaptation Solutions

To prepare effectively for climate change and its impacts, decision-makers need regionally relevant tools, knowledge, networks and policies. To address these needs, the Government of Canada has been partnering with provinces across the country in delivering the Regional Adaptation Collaborative (RAC) program. Under this program, each region of Canada is developing solutions for region-specific issues related to climate change.

The Atlantic RAC, entitled Atlantic Climate Adaptation Solutions, will advance adaptation decision making in such a manner. Funded as part of an $85.9-million investment by the Government of Canada, the $8.2-million collaborative initiative builds on the Atlantic Climate Change Adaptation Strategy signed by Atlantic Environment Ministers in 2008.

Atlantic Climate Adaptation Solutions aims to improve the ability of Atlantic Canadians to prepare for climate change by integrating adaptation measures into a variety of commonly used planning and decision-making processes. More specifically, the provinces are partnering with communities, organizations and universities in delivering projects in three thematic areas:

  • Integrating adaptation into coastal erosion and inland flooding planning
    • working with communities to plan for increased storm events and to manage exposure to sea level rise
    • developing approaches for coastal and inland water vulnerability risk assessment, revising infrastructure design standards and planning for increased flooding events
  • Protecting groundwater resources
    • maximizing the protection of drinking water from salt water contamination in the face of sea level rise
    • developing good management practices and planning recommendations
  • Building capacity of adaptation practitioners
    • strengthening projects results through various networks, including the Atlantic Planners’ Institute, municipal associations, and engineering and geoscientific associations
    • developing a new Atlantic online toolkit
    • transferring knowledge, tools and best practices

The Atlantic Climate Adaptation Solutions Project involves extensive collaboration and $3.5 million in funding over three years from the Government of Canada, as well as matching or in-kind funding from 64 regional partners, including the Nova Scotia and New Brunswick Departments of Environment; the PEI Department of Environment, Energy and Forestry; the Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Environment and Conservation; the Mi’kmaq Confederacy; Nova Scotia Community College; Memorial University; and several other provincial departments, municipalities and organizations (see complete list below).

The Atlantic RAC program is one of six regional initiatives planned under the Government of Canada’s Regional Adaptation Collaborative funding program. The goal of the program is to integrate climate change adaptation into a variety of existing planning and decision-making processes. This program addresses issues identified in the scientific findings of the Atlantic chapter of the report From Impacts to Adaptation: Canada in a Changing Climate 2007.

Atlantic RAC Project Partners

  • Applied Geomatics Research Group, Nova Scotia Community College
  • Association Francophone des Municipalités du Nouveau Brunswick
  • Atlantic Planners Institute
  • Bedeque Bay Environmental Management Association, PEI
  • City of Charlottetown, PEI
  • City of Dieppe, NB
  • City of Moncton, NB
  • City of Summerside, PEI
  • Coastal Zone Research Institute Inc
  • County of Kings, NS
  • County of Cumberland, NS
  • Dalhousie University
  • District of Hants West, NS
  • District of Lunenburg, NS
  • District of Yarmouth, NS
  • Environment Canada
  • Federation of PEI Municipalities
  • Greater Moncton Sewage Commission, NB
  • Halifax Regional Municipality
  • Island Nature Trust, PEI
  • Memorial University, Department of Geography
  • Mi'kmaq Confederacy
  • New Brunswick Department of Agriculture and Aquaculture
  • New Brunswick Department of Environment
  • New Brunswick Department of Local Government
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Environment and Conservation
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Municipal Affairs
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Natural Resources
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Transportation and Works
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Rural Secretariat
  • North Rustico, PEI
  • Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture
  • Nova Scotia Department of Environment
  • Nova Scotia Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture
  • Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
  • Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal
  • Nova Scotia Emergency Management Office
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Agriculture
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Education and Early Childhood Development
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Environment, Energy and Forestry
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Finance and Municipal Affairs
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Rural Development
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Tourism and Culture
  • Prince Edward Island Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal
  • Prince Edward Island Executive Council Office
  • Prince Edward Island Office of the Attorney General and Public Safety
  • Saint Mary’s University, NS
  • Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations
  • Southeast Environmental Association, PEI
  • St. Francis Xavier University, NS
  • Three Rivers Heritage Association Inc, PEI
  • Town of Amherst, NS
  • Town of Bay Roberts, NL
  • Town of Grand Falls, NB
  • Town of Hantsport, NS
  • Town of Kentville, NS
  • Town of Montague, PEI
  • Town of Oxford, NS
  • Town of Riverview, NB
  • Town of Stephenville Crossing, NL
  • Town of Stratford, PEI
  • Town of Windsor, NS
  • Town of Wolfville, NS
  • Town of Yarmouth, NS
  • University of Prince Edward Island

Media may contact:

Margaux Stastny
Director of Communications 
Office of the Minister
Natural Resources Canada


Media Relations
Natural Resources Canada

NRCan's news releases and backgrounders are available at