# CANADA IN A CHANGING CLIMATE:

Sector Perspectives on Impacts and Adaptation



# Edited by:

# F.J. Warren and D.S. Lemmen

Climate Change Impacts and Adaptation Division Natural Resources Canada

### Recommended Citation:

Warren, F.J. and Lemmen, D.S., editors (2014): Canada in a Changing Climate: Sector Perspectives on Impacts and Adaptation; Government of Canada, Ottawa, ON, 286p.

This publication is also available at: adaptation.nrcan.gc.ca

Aussi disponible en français sous le titre : Vivre avec les changements climatiques au Canada : perspectives des secteurs relatives aux impacts et à l'adaptation

For information regarding reproduction rights, contact Natural Resources Canada at **copyright.droitdauteur@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca.** 

Cat. No.: M174-2/2014E (Print) ISBN: 978-1-100-24142-5

Cat. No.: M174-2/2014E-PDF (Online)

ISBN: 978-1-100-24143-2

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Natural Resources, 2014

This assessment is a product of Canada's Adaptation Platform, which brings together representatives from government, industry and professional organizations, to collaborate on adaptation priorities. For more information on the Adaptation Platform, and to download new products, including case studies, adaptation tools, guidance documents and reports, please visit:

adaptation.nrcan.gc.ca

# **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

We gratefully acknowledge the following individuals for their guidance, support and input throughout the process as members of the Assessment Experts' Committee:

Alain Bourque (Ouranos)
Paul Kovacs (Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction)
Jimena Eyzaguirre (ESSA Technologies Ltd.)

Linda Mortsch (Environment Canada) Terry Robert (Fraser Basin Council) Eric Schroff (Yukon Government)

## We also thank the following people for taking the time to provide critical, expert reviews of one or more chapters of the report:

Zeba Ali	James Christian	Sylvie Gauthier	Sharon Ludlow	Dieter Riedel
Shareen Amin	Jenna Craig	Pierre Gosselin	Jim MacLellan	John Rislahti
Faron Anslow	Jennifer Davis	Stephanie Gower	Dan McKenney	Susan Roberecki
Michel Archambault	Jackie Dawson	Gloria Gutman	lan McLachlan	Jeanne Robert
Kumiko Azetsu-Scott	Ramon De Elia	Mark Haines	Maria Mirabelli	Terry Robert
Marie-Caroline Badjeck	Brad de Young	Charles Hannah	M. Monirul Mirza	Alex Rosenberg
Jim Barnes	Claude Desjarlais	Norm Henderson	Wendy Monk	Vincent Roy
Pierre Bernier	Thea Dickinson	Ole Hendrickson	Ana Rosa Morena	Dave Sauchyn
Peter Berry	Susan Doka	Joseph Henton	Nathalie Morin	Paul Schramm
Dominique Berteaux	Al Douglas	Karen Hodges	Toni Morris-Oswald	Eric Schroff
Sébastien Biner	Claude Duguay	Jane Inch	Linda Mortsch	Ryan Schwartz
Danny Blair	Megan Duncan	Mark Johnston	Marc Nelitz	Robert Siron
Anne Blondlot	Caren Dymond	Sarah Kalff	Elizabeth Nelson	Risa Smith
Marie-Eve Bonneau	Kris Ebi	Pam Kertland	Marie-Eve Neron	Chuck Southam
Jeff Bowman	Susan Evans	Heather Kharouba	Dirk Nyland	Tim Takaro
Joan Brunkard	Jimena Eyzaguirre	Paul Kovacs	Sarah O'Keefe	Jason Thistlethwaite
Christopher Bryant	Wayne Fan	François Lalonde	Kenneth Olsen	Matthew Wiens
Sarah Burch	Paul Fesko	Van Lantz	Robert Page	Mary-Ann Wilson
Brent Burton	Manon Fleury	David Lapp	Kathy Palko	Hannah Wittman
Elizabeth Bush	Don Forbes	Caroline Larrivée	Lynne Patenaude	Rebecca World
Leah Carson	James Ford	Diane Lavoie	lan Perry	Fuyuen Yip
Norm Catto	Jenny Fraser	Wendy Leger	Eva Riccius	Terry Zdan
Ginger Chew	John Fyfe	Chris Lemieux	Jake Rice	Xuebin Zhang
Quentin Chiotti	Fawziah (ZuZu) Gadallah	George Luber	Gregory Richardson	

This report could not have been completed without the help of our students. We would like to recognize the following students for their dedication to the work, attention to detail and unwavering positivity:

Stéphanie Elias Dong Young Lee Cynthia Smith
Adam Garbo Laurisse Noël