About ISO 50001

Canada, along with 42 other countries, participated in the development of the new ISO 50001 standard for energy management systems. The published standard requires an organization to do the following:

  • Conduct an energy review (analyze energy data, identify areas of significant energy use and identify areas for energy performance improvement)
  • Establish an energy baseline
  • Establish energy objectives and targets that are measurable and have timelines for achievement
  • Establish an action plan to achieve energy objectives and targets
  • Implement the action plan
  • Check performance
  • Monitor, document and report all the above
  • To obtain the complete version of the ISO 50001 Energy Management Systems Standard, visit the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) website.

Canada was the first country in the world to adopt ISO 50001 as their energy management systems standard, entitled CAN/CSA-ISO 50001. Details on this standard are available on the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) website.

If your organization is considering a CAN/CSA-ISO 50001 implementation and is seeking a Canadian registrar to certify your plant upon completion, a Canadian accreditation program is in place. More information on the Energy Management Systems Accreditation Program is available from the Standards Council of Canada website.

ISO 50001 Global Leadership

The Clean Energy Ministerial Energy Management Leadership Awards is an annual global leadership and case study awards program that recognizes those who are transforming their organizations with ISO 50001. Their energy management achievements include finding ways to save energy, reduce costs, and share experiences to inspire others to implement the standard. In June 2017, top winners will be honored at the eighth Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM8) in Beijing, China.

For more information, see the CEM video of top winners in 2016, view all the 2016 award-winning case studies or visit the Energy Management Leadership Awards website.

These awards were first presented at the seventh CEM in San Francisco on June 2, 2016. CIPEC congratulates all winners and entrants, and recognizes the following achievements by CIPEC Leader companies:

  • New Gold Inc. - New Afton Mine, was one of three winners of the global CEM Award of Excellence in Energy Management, which brings high-profile government recognition and media attention.
  • New Gold and 3M Company submitted the two top-scoring entries with Canadian facilities and were also awarded the CIPEC National Energy Management Award at Energy Summit 2016 in Niagara Falls, Ontario.
  • 3M, Catalyst Paper and Schneider Electric each received an Energy Management Insight award, which recognizes their qualifying entries for helping to build insight on the benefits of energy management systems.